Inetrnational Centre of the Roerichs

International Non-Governmental Organization | Special consultative status with UN ECOSOC
Associate member with UN DPI | Institutional member of International Council of Museums (ICOM)
Member of pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage EUROPA NOSTRA | Associate member with INTO

Roerichs' familyRoerichs' evolutionary actionsMuseum named after Nicholas RoerichPublishing activity
Scientific enlightment workProtection of the Roerichs' name and heritageICR: general information

printer friendly
PAGES:  2010200720062005200420032002200120001999199819971996199519941993


Director-General of the Museum by name of Nicholas Roerich Lyudmila V.Shaposhnikova receives European cultural heritage Award

Grigoriy Sapozhnikov

Today Director-General of the Museum by name of Nicholas Roerich Lyudmila V. Shaposhnikova has been presented with European cultural heritage Award - Europa Nostra Award - for her outstanding achievemnts in preservation of European architectural, natural, archeological and artistic heritage.

When presenting the award Vice-President of All-European Federation for Cultural Heritage Preservation EUROPA NOSTRA Alexander Sayn-Wittgenstein emphasized that: “EU highly appreciates Russia’s efforts in restoration of historical monuments”. The highest accolade has been bestowed on Lyudmila V. Shaposhnikova’s contribution to the restoration of the architectural monument of the 17th – 18th centuries – the Lopukhins’ Estate, Moscow, where the Museum by name of Nicholas Roerich is housed.

The award ceremony was held as a part of a conference, dedicated to the 75th anniversary of the Roerich Pact and hosted in Moscow.

“The signing of the Roerich Pact had a great influence on civil society. - Alexander Sayn-Wittgenstein asserted. - This agreement became the basis for new legal initiatives concerning cultural heritage preservation.”

“Russia and EU have established a constructive cultural dialogue, - he added. – Russia has contributed greatly into historical monuments restoration, in spite of many difficulties, impeding to achieve this goal.”

This year the world public celebrates the 75th anniversary of the Roerich Pact, known as the “Treaty for the Protection of Artistic and Scientific Institutions and Historic Monuments” – the first international treaty on the protection of cultural heritage. It was signed on April 15th 1935 in Washington. During the ceremony in the White House the representatives of the USA and 20 countries of Latin America put their signatures to this document in Franklin D. Roosevelt’s presence.

Back to the list

PAGES:  2010200720062005200420032002200120001999199819971996199519941993