Inetrnational Centre of the Roerichs

International Non-Governmental Organization | Special consultative status with UN ECOSOC
Associate member with UN DPI | Institutional member of International Council of Museums (ICOM)
Member of pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage EUROPA NOSTRA | Associate member with INTO

Roerichs' familyRoerichs' evolutionary actionsMuseum named after Nicholas RoerichPublishing activity
Scientific enlightment workProtection of the Roerichs' name and heritageICR: general information

printer friendly

The International Centre of the Roerichs Board

The Board of the ICR (until 1992, the Roerichs Soviet Fund) was formed in 1990. According to the ICR Charter:

- In a period between the Conferences, management of the Centre to be carried out by the Board, elected by the Conference for a term of six years. The procedure for election and recall of Board members shall be determined by the Conference;

- The Board shall consist of President, Vice Presidents and Board members elected by the Conference. The Board of the Centre shall be a permanent governing collegiate body exercising the right of legal entity on behalf of the Centre and performing its duties in compliance with the law in force;

The main task of the Board is to develop directions of the Centre's activity and to carry out management of the Centre and its branches in a period between the Conferences. To fulfil this task

The Board of the Centre is obliged to:

- prepare and convene the Conference of the Centre, determine the order of representation at the Conference;

- develop main activities and programs of the Centre;

- recommend to the Conference a candidature for the position of Director General of the Museum by name of Nicholas Roerich with the status of First Vice-President of the Centre, who forms the Directorate of the Museum, approve the Regulations, the manning table of the Museum and supervise its activities as well as activities of its subdivisions;

- set up commissions, committees, art groups, councils, organize their activities, adopt regulations on them, hear and approve annual reports on their work;

- to accept public associations- legal entities as members of the Centre, and expel members from the Centre;

- hear and approve reports of heads of the branches, affiliates, representative offices;

- organize and hold congresses, symposia, conferences, seminars, exhibitions on activities corresponding to Charter of the Centre;

- grant on behalf of the Centre prizes, awards, and scholarships;

- decide on the establishment of the Centre branches and affiliates in Russia and abroad, appoints their Heads, adopts a Branch Regulation;

- coordinate international relations of the Centre.

Today, the Members of the ICR Board are:

Temirkanov Yuri Khatuevich, President of the ICR, the Artistic Director of the St. Petersburg Academic Philharmonic named after D.D. Shostakovich

Stetsenko Alexander Vitalievich, Vice-President of the ICR

Cherkashina Natalya Nikolaevna, Vice-President of the ICR, the Acting Director-General of Nicholas Roerich Museum

Karpov Anatoly Yevgenyevich, President of the International Association of Peace Foundations, Multiple World Chess Champion, Ambassador of the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)

Ivanitskaya Lida Vladimirovna, First Vice-President – Chief Academic Secretary of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, Honorary Doctor of Philosophy of European University of the International Academy of Sciences of Nature and Society

Surgina Larisa Veniaminovna, Russian curator, group of the International Roerich Memorial Trust in Naggar (India)

Titova Oksana Valeryevna, the Head of the Organisational Department of the ICR

Khomenok Lyubov Vladislavovna, Head of the Development Department of Nicholas Roerich Museum

Baida Victor Valentinovich, Vice-President the International Roerichs’ Heritage Preservation Committee

Zakharova Yelena Aleksandrovna, Senior Researcher of the Manuscript Department of the ICR

Ivanova Tatyana Aleksandrovna, Member of the Professional and Creative Union of Artists and Graphic Artists of the International Federation of Artists (IFA)

Kalinkina Olga Nikolaevna, Chairman of the Perm Regional Branch of the International League for Protection of Culture, Candidate of Sociological Sciences